Birthing plan…

May 18, 2011 § 1 Comment

At roughly 30 weeks pregnant, it’s got me thinking about my birthing plan. Since this isn’t my first rodeo with the whole child birthing process, I have a little better of an idea of how things will go and progress. With Hay, my water broke while I was sleeping. I showered and we jumped in the truck with my overnight bag (somehow her newborn outfit never made it in there so she was taken home wrapped in the hospital sheet and one of my sweatpants. Do I get the Mom of the Year award? Hubby refused to leave my side when I insisted on him running home and getting her outfit. A outfit. ANY outfit. Obviously, he didn’t.

I forget where I was going with this…anyhow, I think I felt a total of one painful contraction…the epidural was ah-maze-ing. No doubt about it. I am a huge wussy when it comes to pain. In fact, the nurse had asked me about my pain tolerance and I replied that I thought I was average. G let out a laugh. Seriously? He laughed. That did not make me happy, but it made me really evaluate my tolerance for pain. He was right. It’s pretty damn low.

I keep getting off track here so I’ll just get to it. I am going to try to do most of my laboring here at home and go to the hospital when I really need to. The worst part about my labor experience with Hay was the fact that I was in the hospital so damn long. If I can bare through a lot of the contractions, I would like to do so without wires hooked up to me and the sterile hospital smell…not to mention the constant beeping sound coming from three different machines.

So far, this is the only part of my birth plan that I have figured out. This and the fact that I don’t think I will be inducing early like I had thought. Still doing some research on it, but it doesn’t sound like the best option for me and baby #2.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Birthing plan…

  • Heather says:

    Woman, you are crazy to want to induce early. Why would you do that? I was induced with Mirabelle after she was 5 days late, and I would have given anything to go on my own. Don’t get me wrong it was a super easy experience, despite Levi only being on Skype (LOL), but still I wish I would have gone into labor on my own. It’s the natural way and you’re all about being natural woman! LOL! I’ve heard the second ones come a little earlier anyway. That could be an old wives tale too! I know you’ll make the right choice….
    Hugs!!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Birthing plan… at Fortunately Humble....

meta

