Patience

May 23, 2011 § Leave a comment

This past weekend was absolutely gorgeous. We spent most of our time outside BBQ-ing and playing in the sun. G played with his RC car/truck a bit on Saturday like I expected, but I really didn’t mind. It gave me a chance to take some pictures with Hay outside and play with bubbles and her sandbox. :0) I am so blessed to have such a wonderful daughter.

Yesterday morning, G got out of the shower to Hay standing in her bedroom doorway. This was around 7 am. This is a total shocker because even though she’s been in a toddler bed for about 3 months, she would always just wake up and play in her bed. She would never get out until one of us came to get her. Until yesterday that is. She took a nap and stayed in bed the whole time until I got her. When it came to putting her down for bed, she did great again…for about 30 minutes…LOL! We were all at the dinner table and I hear an excited “eeeek”! Like she just entered Disneyland or something. She escaped her room! LOL She ended up having a dirty diaper, so I am thrilled she came out to have me change her.

I put her back in bed again, which wasn’t an easy task. She screamed like I was hurting her or she was being attacked or something while scrambling to get out of the bed. :0( Broke my heart. But it was bed time and rules are rules. I told her with a firm voice “no, it’s time to sleep”. I don’t know if it was the tone of my voice or the serious look I had, but she stopped crying all together and adjusted herself to her usual comfy position and I never heard another peep again. At that exact moment, I wish I had the Staples “That was easy” button. :0) It made me think back to the days of watching my sisters and other kids…I had no patience. Not compared to what I have now anyways. I don’t know if it has to do with age or just the fact that Hay is my kid. But I am so thankful that my thoughts about not wanting kids because I was afraid I wouldn’t have the patience turned out to be false.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Patience at Fortunately Humble....

meta

